UML wins in Sunwal municipality of Nawalparasi

UML wins in Sarawal municipality of Nawalparasi

CPN (UML) candidate has won in Sunwal Municipality of Nawalparasi (Bardaghat Susta West) defeating the alliance. Defeating the alliance between the Nepali Congress and the CPN (Maoist Center), the UML has won both the post of mayor and deputy mayor.

UML’s Bimala Aryal has won the mayoral election by a wide margin of 908 votes, defeating the coalition candidate Arjun Kumar Pokhrel by a margin of 3,218 votes. Similarly, Surya Prasad Duve of UML has been elected defeating Lekhnath Kharel, the deputy chief candidate of the alliance by a margin of 4,908 votes.

Pokhrel was defeated by the Nepali Congress for the post of chief and Kharel was defeated by the Maoists for the post of deputy chief. Elected Aryal got 14,838 votes while his nearest rival Pokhrel got 11,620 votes, according to the Office of the Returning Officer.

Duvel got 13,798 votes while his nearest rival Kharel got 8,890 votes. In the previous election, Nepali Congress was elected as the chief of Sunwal Nagar and UML as the deputy chief.

In this 13-ward city, UML has won seven wards, while Congress has won five and UCPN-M has won one ward. Man Bahadur Thapa and Rajendra Yadav of UML have been elected in ward nos. 1 and 2, Pawin Gurung of Nepali Congress in ward no. 3, Bal Krishna Pangeni of UML in ward no.4. and Himlal Sharma of the CPN-UML has been elected as the ward chairman in ward no. 5 of the Nepali Congress.

Similarly, Narayan Acharya of UCPN (Maoist), Dev Bahadur Gurung of Nepali Congress, Birbal Chaudhary and Dil Bahadur Thapa of UML have been elected as ward chairmen of 7th, 8th and 10th wards respectively.

According to the District Election Office, 34,478 votes have been cast from 50 polling stations in the local level election in Sunwal Nagar, which has 46,301 voters.

Original Article @NepalNews