UML wins in Sarawal municipality of Nawalparasi

UML wins in Sarawal municipality of Nawalparasi

CPN (UML) candidate has won in Sarawal village municipality of Nawalparasi (Bardaghat Sustapaschim). According to the final results of the counting held this morning, UML’s Sukhadi Prasad Chaudhary has won the post of village chairman.

Chaudhary was elected after defeating his nearest rival by a wide margin of 2,970 votes. Chief Administrative Officer of Sarawal Village Municipality Krishna Prasad Gyawali informed that Chaudhary got 7,059 votes. According to him, Chaudhary’s nearest rival Anil Kumar Gaud of Nepali Congress polled 4,089 votes.

UML’s Basmati Harijan has also won the post of village municipality vice-chairman. Vijayi Harijan polled 5,743 votes while his nearest rival Uttama Roy of the Nepali Congress, who is also the outgoing vice-president, polled 5,349 votes. Harijan defeated Roy by 394 votes.

Earlier, the then Forum Loktantrik (later merged with the Nepali Congress) had won the chairmanship of this village municipality and the Congress had won the vice-chairmanship. UML has won in two wards, Congress in three wards and Maoist Center and RPP in one ward each.

There were 25,912 voters in this village municipality in the local level election 2022 AD. This is the first time out of seven municipalities in the district that the results have been made public after counting of votes. Counting is also underway in six other municipalities.

Original Article @NepalNews