UML wins chief and deputy chief of Gauradaha

UML wins in Mechinagar Municipality

The Communist Party of Nepal (UML) has won both the chief and deputy chief posts in Jhapa’s Gauradaha municipality.

UML candidate Chhatrapati Subedi was elected as the leading candidate by getting 12,849 votes. He defeated Rohit Kumar Shah, a candidate from the Nepali Congress. Shah received 11 thousand 448 votes. Shah had earlier been elected as the mayor of the same city.

UML candidate Jal Varsha Rajbanshi has also won the Deputy Chief. Rajbanshi got 11 thousand 914 votes. He defeated Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Center) candidate Pushpalal Dhakal. Dhakal has received 10 thousand 348 votes.

In Gauradaha municipality, the Nepali Congress had formed an alliance with the Maoists and other parties. There are nine wards in this town. Nagendra Bhandari from UML in Ward No. 1, Gopal Prasad Koirala from Congress in Ward No. 2, Independent candidate Dilip Kumar Bhandari in Ward No. 3, Durgamani Basnet from UML in Ward No. 4, Jagannath Khanal from UML in Ward No. 5, Toyanath Parsai from Congress in Ward no 6, Balram Kaharel from UML in Ward no 7, Ganesh Kumar Rajbanshi from UCPN (Maoist) in ward no 8 and Upendra Niraula from UML have won in ward no 9. 

Original Article @NepalNews