Ruling coalition is maintaining lead in Pokhara

Demand for recount in Pokhara Metropolitan City-18

Dhanraj Acharya, the chief candidate of the ruling CPN (Unified Socialist Party) from the ruling coalition has maintained his lead in the ongoing counting of votes in the Pokhara Metropolitan City under the local level member election-2022.

In Pokhara, Acharya got 34,336 votes out of 85,157 votes counted on Saturday. His closest rival Krishna Thapa of the CPN (UML) is following with 30,949 votes. Acharya and Thapa have a difference of 3,387 votes. One lakh 43 thousand 226 votes were cast in Pokhara. Similarly, RPP’s Shankar Kharal got 3,835 votes and independent candidate Ganes Poudel got 2,335 votes.

Similarly, UML’s Manju Devi Gurung has secured the lead with 465 votes. While Gurung got 35,312 votes, Congress’ Kopila Ranabhat got 34,847 votes. Ranabhat, who has been leading since the beginning of the census, has been lagging behind in the census since Friday night.

The final results of 19 out of 33 wards of the Pokhara metropolis have been made public so far. Nepali Congress has won in 15 wards while UML has won in five wards. The Congress has so far won Ward Nos. 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 and 28 in the counting of votes. UML has won in Ward Nos. 1, 5, 6, 8 and Ward No. 20.

Original Article @NepalNews