Congress wins in Sunder Bazaar and Central Nepal

Final results of 12 municipalities yet to come

Nepali Congress has won in Sunderbazar Municipality and Central Nepal Municipality on behalf of the alliance. According to the Office of the Returning Officer, Krishna Prasad Koirala of the Nepali Congress has been elected in Sunder Bazaar and Ramesh Kumar Pandey in Central Nepal.

In Sunder Bazaar, newly elected Koirala polled 6,641 votes while his nearest rival Bhim Bahadur Gurung of the CPN (UML) polled 6,036 votes. Similarly, Bhavani KC of UML won the Deputy Chief by getting 5,018 votes. His nearest rival Rambabu Adhikari of the Unified Socialist Party, a candidate of the ruling coalition, polled 2,204 votes.

Similarly, in Central Nepal, Congress’ Pandey won by 337 votes, beating UML’s Raj Kumar Shrestha. Pandey polled 6,551 votes while his UML rival Shrestha polled 6,214 votes, said Election Officer Durga Prasad Bhurtel. Pandey is also the previous chief. Shrestha, who was defeated, is the former deputy chief.

Similarly, UML’s Sita Gurung defeated UCPN (Maoist) candidate Upendra Adhikari by a margin of 1,342 votes. He received 6,416 votes, while his nearest rival Upendra received 5,074 votes.

There were 20,796 voters in Sunder Bazaar and 14,052 votes were cast. In Central Nepal, 13,771 votes were cast out of 20,092 total voters.

Original Article @NepalNews