Congress and Maoist leadership in Jumla

Congress and Maoist leadership in Jumla

Nepali Congress has won in five out of eight local levels of Jumla. The CPN (Maoist Center) has won in two tiers while the only independent candidate from Chandannath municipality has been elected.

Independent candidate Raj Singh Kathayat polled 2,403 votes while his rival Padma Bahadur Shahi polled 2,341 votes. Congress has won the post of vice-president in Hima, Kankasundari village municipality and deputy chief in Chandannath town.

Similarly, the Maoists have won along with the chairperson and vice-chairperson of Tila and Sinja villages. The Maoists have also won the Tatopani, Pararasi village vice-chairman. The CPN (Unified) Socialist Party has won only the vice-chairman of Guthichaur village municipality of the district.

In the 2017 election, the Maoists had won three presidents and five vice-presidents. UML had won Tila village chairman and Sinja village chairman. UML has lost its legacy in the district now.

Meanwhile, the newly elected chairperson of Hima village municipality Sundar Laxman Shahi has taken charge. After taking the oath, Chairman Shahi has decided to provide free health insurance to the entire household of the village municipality. Shahi said that it has been decided to run a free ambulance service for senior citizens above 60 years of age, pregnant women, pregnant women, the poor, the disabled and the helpless.

Original Article @NepalNews